Scottish Parliament appoints new Chair of Commission

The Scottish Parliament has agreed the nomination of Professor Angela O’Hagan as new Chair of the Scottish Human Rights Commission.

The Commission warmly welcomes Professor O’Hagan who will take up post in August, following her formal appointment by His Majesty the King.

The Members of the Commission are Jim Farish, Shelley Gray and Claire Methven O’Brien. They said:

“We are pleased to welcome the Scottish Parliament’s appointment of Angela O’Hagan as new Chair of the Commission.

"Professor O’Hagan brings invaluable experience, expertise and human rights leadership to this role. She will join the Commission at a crucial time, as we start to deliver on the commitments in our Strategic Plan 2024-28.

"Our priorities for the next four years highlight our role as Scotland’s human rights watchdog, working with people and communities to understand their experiences; and strengthening accountability for human rights across Scotland.

“We very much look forward to working with Angela O’Hagan to promote and protect everyone’s human rights in Scotland.”

For media enquires please email:

Notes to Editors 

  1. The Scottish Parliament passed a Parliamentary Motion on 16 May 2024 nominating Professor Angela O’Hagan to His Majesty the King for appointment as the Chair of the Scottish Human Rights Commission.
  2. The Commission is comprised of a part-time Chair and three part-time Commissioners (currently Shelley Gray, Jim Farish and Claire Methven O’Brien). Members of the Commission are appointed by the Scottish Parliament to form the Commission; each undertakes a six year term.
  3. The Scottish Human Rights Commission is an independent public body with a mandate to promote and protect human rights in Scotland. It was established by the Scottish Commission for Human Rights Act 2006.
  4. The Commission is also part of the international human rights system, trusted by the United Nations to provide impartial evidence on human rights in Scotland.